just because today was the 18th

 

When I first met you,

Your face, your name was all I knew.

Now who would have thought it would be me and you.

But I’m so excited for what’s to come because this feels true.

 

Each morning I wake up with the thought of you.

My mind takes me to a place of just us two.

Those good morning and goodnight texts makes me wonder,

Could this be it?

Are we legit?

 

Your smile is constantly on my mind,

It is so genuine, so soft and so kind.

You make me feel like the only girl around,

You make me feel important and you never let me down.

 

People ask how long does love last for,

Some say a century,

Some say a lifetime,

But I say forever.

 

All I know is that you have helped me discover what true love is.

It isn’t temporary and it isn’t bliss.

Someone once said,

“It is measured by how deep you fall,

And judged by how willing you are to crawl.”

It is determined by how much you are going to open up, even if the relationship has a bump.

It requires endless trust,

even if there’s a fuss.

 

I want that part of you that you won’t give to anyone,

and the thought of you makes me feel like I’ve hit a homerun.

The way you carry yourself shows that you are a real gentleman,

You’ve reminded me what butterflies feel like again.

 

I’ve seen the hurt you’ve endured,

But through it all you matured.

I can’t guarantee you the sky,

and I can’t say that I’ll never cry.

But I promise you that I’ll never say goodbye,

without fighting to try.

 


This poem was written for my first love, a year ago. Although him and I have drifted and no longer communicate (gladly), I truly believe that it is important to share this piece, because it highlights the innocence and naivety of a person in love, even at an adolescent age. After one as moved on, it is crucial for one to see their growth, in order to continue their development.

Gif link:

Giphy. “Black And White Love GIF – Find & Share on GIPHY.” GIPHY, GIPHY, 5 Apr. 2018, gph.is/1dsSaaV.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *