mirror mirror on the wall

 

I am the truth and what she does not want to see.

I am what she is, and what she wants to be.

I see her every morning, but she doesn’t see me.

With a smile, “Pretty, appealing, valuable” she says.

 

She puts on her glasses, only to feel disgraced.

She looks closer into me, to examine her face.

She only sees her nose, her scars and her race.

Her smiles fades, “Ugly, disgusting, worthless” she says.

 

I see her leave, only to come with a bag.

One hour later her smile is back.

She goes into her room to grab her backpack.

 

Thirteen hours has passed, and now she is here.

With a smile, “Pretty, appealing, valuable” she says.

She washes her face;

Mascara gone,

Lipstick gone,

Eye-shadow gone,

Foundation gone.

Her smile fades, “Ugly disgusting, worthless” she says.

I see her leave with tears in her eyes.

 

I am the truth and what she does not want to see.

I am what she is, and what she wants to be.

I see her every morning and every afternoon, but she never sees me.


Authors Note:

I was inspired to write this poem when I was feeling severely insecure, and needed to express myself. This poem truly highlights my true insecurities, thoughts and actions that I faced then, and still face to this day. There were some days when I wanted to literally break that mirror on the wall, because my reflection was not what I aspired to see. There were other days where I avoided looking in mirror completely. I do not know how I did, but it is possible to do the impossible when your heart so craves it. We have all been there.

To enlighten this somber mood, of course there were days when I was proud, happy and satisfied with my appearance, from my large nose to my acne scars and chocolate colored-skin.

Amity Gaige once stated, “To me, self-esteem is not self-love. It is self-acknowledgment, as in recognizing and accepting who you are.” I can not ask you to instantly apply this message to your life because I can’t for mine. However, I can ask you and ask myself to use this quote as a motivation to start or continue the journey of self-acceptance.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *